No Comments

Which Is the Highest Law Making Body in Indian Parliament

Some of the non-parliamentary Hindi words listed in the pamphlet were “anarchist”, “gaddar”, “girgit”, “rogue”, “ghadiyali ansu”, “apmaan”, “asatya”, “ahankaar”, “corrupt”, “kala din”, “kala bazaari”, “khareed farokht”, “danga”, “dalal”, “daadagiri”, “dohra charitra”, “bechara”, “bobcut”, “lollypop”, “vishwasghat”, “samvedanheen”, “stupid”, “pitthu”, “behri sarkar” and “sexual harassment”. [28] [29] In 2019, the Indian government launched the Central Vista Redevelopment Project, a multi-billion dollar project to rehabilitate Central Vista, India`s central administrative area near Raisina Hill, New Delhi. The construction of a new Parliament building, as well as the rehabilitation of the Rajpath, will create a new office and residence for the Prime Minister of India and consolidate all ministerial buildings into a single central secretariat. [10] In 2022, the Lok Sabha Secretariat published a brochure listing non-parliamentary words and phrases before the start of the monsoon session on July 18, 2022. Prohibited words, if used during debates or otherwise in both Houses, would be deleted from the records of Parliament. Prohibited words included “anarchist”, “Shakuni”, “dictatorial”, “taanashah”, “taanashahi”, “Jaichand”, “vinash purush”, “Khalistani”. The pamphlet also banned certain non-parliamentary expressions such as “khoon se kheti”, “dohra charitra”, “nikamma”, “nautanki”, “dhindora peetna” and “behri sarkar”. [28] The Parliament of India (IAST: Bhāratīya Sansad) is the supreme legislative body of the Republic of India. It is a bicameral legislature consisting of the President of India and two houses: the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (House of the People). The Speaker, in his capacity as Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, has full authority either to convene and prorogue the House of Parliament or to dissolve the Lok Sabha. The President may exercise these powers only on the advice of the Prime Minister and his Union Council of Ministers.

The Lok Sabha (House of the People) or lower house has 543 members. Members are directly elected by Indian citizens on the basis of universal adult suffrage, which represents parliamentary constituencies across the country. Between 1952 and 2020, two other members of the Anglo-Indian community were also appointed by the President of India on the advice of the Indian government, which was abolished in January 2020 by the 104th Constitutional Amendment of 2019. [19] Any Indian citizen over the age of 18, regardless of gender, caste, religion or race, and not disqualified, has the right to vote for members of the Lok Sabha. The Constitution stipulates that the maximum membership of the House is 552. His term of office is five years. To be eligible for membership in the Lok Sabha, a person must be an Indian citizen and be 25 years of age or older, in good mental health, must not be bankrupt and must not be criminally convicted. The total number of electoral members shall be distributed among the States in such a way that the ratio between the number of seats allocated to each State and the population of the State is, as far as possible, the same for all States. [20] Proposals for a new Parliament Building to replace the Parliament Building emerged in the early 2010s following questions about the stability of the original structure.

[8] In 2012, a committee was set up by Mira Kumar, then spokesperson, to propose and evaluate several alternatives to the use of the building. [9] The period during which the House of Representatives meets to conduct its business is called a session. The Constitution authorizes the President to convene each House at such intervals that there should be no more than six months between the two sessions. Parliament must therefore meet at least twice a year. In India, Parliament holds three sessions each year: Membership Committee to investigate allegations.[22] The perimeter of the building is circular, with 144 columns on the outside. In the middle of the building is the circular central chamber, and around this chamber are three semicircular rooms built for the sessions of the Princely House (now used as a library room), the Council of State (now for the Rajya Sabha) and the Central Legislative Assembly (now used for the Lok Sabha). The parliament is surrounded by large gardens and the perimeter is enclosed by sandstone balustrades (jali). [5] The center and focal point of the building is the central hall.

It consists of the rooms of the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and library room and between them are garden courtyards. Around these three chambers is the four-storey circular structure, which houses ministers, chairmen, parliamentary committees, party offices, key offices of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha secretariat, as well as the offices of the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs. The central hall is circular and the dome has a diameter of 30 meters (98 feet). It is a place of historical importance. The Indian Constitution was framed in the central hall. The central hall was originally used in the library of the former Central Legislative Assembly and the Council of States. In 1946, it was rebuilt and converted into the Constituent Assembly Hall. Currently, the Central Room is used for joint sessions of the two Houses of Parliament as well as for the Speaker`s speech at the beginning of the first session after each general election. The Rajya Sabha (Council of States) or House of Lords is a permanent body that cannot be dissolved.